top of page

Halloween

As you may expect, Halloween in Canada is a bigger deal than back home in Germany.

On campus, they transformed part of a building into a haunted house, a sexy dressed zombie girl walked across the campus and handed out sweets out of a big plastic pumpkin playing creepy music and we did pumpkin carving with the Office of Intercultural Affairs. It was my first time and I was very proud of my result in the end! J Another great event was the “Trick or Eat” organized by the non-profit organization MealExchange Guelph. Students go from door to door, but instead of collecting sweets, they collect canned food, which is then donated to families in need.

I was invited to a party at another international student’s house. It was one of the typical row townhouses you can find very often in Guelph. I love them! It reminded me of parties I had seen in movies, crowded and with red plastic mugs everywhere; but fortunately it was not as escalating as they often are. Many of the costumes looked awesome! There was the Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland, an Avatar covered with blue paint and pointed ears, Cat Woman, a dude dressed like a sexy nurse, another dude in corset and pantyhose and many more. I decided to only go with makeup this time so that I did not have to buy a costume. Originally planning to put on zombie makeup, it spontaneously resulted in Batman’s Joker. I was a bit afraid of myself when I looked into a mirror – haha.

bottom of page